Name of the Department with Address and Contact number :
Political Science & Public Administration
Yogi Vemana University
Kadapa – 516005
Contact Number : Ph 08562225441
Year of Establishment :
Details of the faculty members :
Dr.S .Govardhana Naidu Associate Professor
Dr.G.Parvathi Assistant Professor
Dr.P.Prameela Margaret Assistant Professor
Dr.D.R.Satish Babu Assistant Professor & Co-ordinator
Achievements :
The Department of Political Science & Public Administration is one of the oldest departments established at the erstwhile SVUPG Centre Kadapa, in November 1977. It is committed to achieve excellence in Teaching, Research, and Service.The department is offering Masters Degree in Political Science & Public Administration with an intake of 30 Students and Ph.D programme . So far 16 research scholars were awarded Doctorate and 32 research scholars were awarded M.Phil in Political Science & Public Administration. The department is engaged in continuous research activities, and has completed 2 Minor projects, organized two National Seminars and produced over 90 research papers. Besides teaching activity, the department organizes guest lectures, Workshops, Seminars and Educational Tours.
To meet the changing needs and requirements of the society and to widen the employment opportunities of the students the department has revised its syllabus in 2008 and made it more contemporary. The syllabus is being revised for every 2 years.
The alumni of the department were absorbed in to politics and into various Central, State and Private Organizations. To enhance the employability potential of the students the department initiated training in communication skills. Training the students for NET, Civil Services, Groups and other Competitive Exams is also undertaken.
Seminars / Conference / Symposia/ Workshops/Guest lecturers conducted :
  1. Career Counseling by Mr Chitti Babu, Sub-Editor of the Hindu, March 29, 2010 in association with Asian College of Journalism.
  2. A lecture on “Challenges to Higher Education” by Prof. Haragopal, University of Hyderabad on September 18, 2010.
  3. Conducted two National Seminars.